Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Flora

I don't often photograph flowers anymore, being more interested in things with eyes.  But I have had a colossoly lazy day and I happened to notice that all my columbine is blooming so here we are.  A flower.  Not just any flower, but a native red columbine that has naturalized over several shady patches in my pollinator garden.  It reseeds itself easily, grows in almost any soil conditions, and needs no care at all.  It is a plant that I often see when I am walking in wooded areas, often growing out of limestone, rocky ledges and just about anyplace else a seed might land.  And, it produces a lovely bloom as you can see here.

I had one of those nights where I just couldn't get to sleep so I ended up taking a rather long mid-morning nap.  Woke feeling refreshed, but had also wasted half the day.  Oh, well.  

We are having a major heat wave and our temps by Sunday will be nudging 90F, very unusual for this time of year.  It has also been bone dry so I am going to have to water some parts of my garden tomorrow morning.  And, of course, this will increase the risk of fires, something we usually don't have to worry about.  Nothing on the scale of what happens in the western US each year, but still a worry.

Thanks for the love on yesterday's raptor.  It is a really special experience to see a wild creature being returned to the wild.  Thank goodness for the people like my friend who take on the tireless job of caring for injured birds and other wild creatures.  

And thanks to Anni/BikerBear for continuing to host Flower Friday!

Safety,,,kindness...dark chocolate...

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.