Photos from A Field

By RandallFriesen

The view from a field

This computer has become such an indispensable tool in this time. I respect its hard work in whole new levels.

But I’m on it now for hours each day. So in order for it to encourage me to breathe deeply and remember the world out there, I’ve put one of my photos on one of the desktops.

It’s a picture I took when we were on the Isle of Iona a few years back. Lovely. Takes me right back there instantly. The strong winds, the waves, it’s all there. Like I should put on my coat in the office.

And when I’m focused hard on my work and I need another desktop to quickly do more on, I slide past this photo and it stops me. For a minute I am transfixed and my focus is changed and I slow down, breath deeply, and remember.

It’s quite amazing how that works in me, to me. One glimpse of Iona on a windy day and my priorities shift. I remember what’s important. I slow down, and life is better.

All because of a photo on a screen.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.