Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

View from the sofa #2

So, today I woke up to SweetArt going into surgery at noon, her time. There were a few messages being exchanged in the WhatsApp group that her husband created to keep us all informed. WA groups are brilliant to pass updates on quickly!

I have to admit I didn't want to concentrate much on anything. G did her morning lessons, and I had hoped to go back to Spinneys for a Bitter Lemon offer I came across yesterday. I hope it is still there tomorrow. I had a call from the battery man... one battery is absolutely useless; the one that was connected (given to me by the Volvo garage) has charged and is in good working order. I enquired about the cost of checking and charging. I was told that as I was giving a battery for recycling, the money that the workshop would get cancels out any money I owe! Cool.

We got the room ready for the AWANA Awards night Zoom meeting. It was good to see some of the kids again. I say some because not everyone came and some didn't have their cameras on. It was over all too soon, and there was barely time to catch up. G has a plan to continue with a different curriculum over the summer, so we may see a few of them again.

The day finished with a treat... food from outside in the form of Student Biryani. With our curfew now starting at 8 pm and the Zoom meeting around 7, I thought it best to place my order before we started. I was told the food couldn't be delivered until 8. That was perfect. I couldn't believe it then when the doorbell rang at 6:45 right in the middle of our meeting. ARGH!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.