Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Abras along the Creek

It's been a pretty non-stop day!

Zoom Bible Study followed by YouTube church service. Grace joined us for the service and then stayed to chat about stuff. Sadly, she's got to leave Karama and go back to company-provided accommodation in a part of town where lots of CV cases are recorded.

We had lunch and a video chat with SweetArt who is recovering very well. What a relief! The plan was to head out to Spinneys but we got caught up in a movie instead. Gertrude Queen of the Desert... one of G's favourite characters. There was so much edited in our version, I don't think I got the whole story. That, and the fact I fell asleep towards the end!

So, we went out and had a small drive to the Creek while we were in the car. G took the main picture for me. The Creek is as gorgeous as ever despite the lack of buzz from the dhows (cargo boats) and abras (water taxis).

G got into Spinneys without being asked any questions. She hadn't been to this branch in weeks, so enjoyed browsing the shelves to see what they had. Sadly none of the meat I saw on Wednesday was still available. All sold out, so I wish I'd got it there and then.

Back home and I thought I'd record our (now) famous tree for Flower Friday. The picture is taken from the landing window. The sign on the right is a new addition this year courtesy of the restaurant below our flat. I'm so annoyed about it, but they moved it twice for us before finally locating it there. It annoys me but there isn't much I can do. Why this tiny restaurant has to have a sign that is taller than a normal man's height is beyond me.

And lastly, G did us a finger food spread for dinner. So much colour on this lazy Susan the only thing you can't see is the avocados which were on our individual plates! The Red Leceister was delicious!

As with most places around the world, we have a long weekend too, except ours is for Eid Al Fitr - the end of the Holy Month of Ramadan. I like the fact that there's a Bank Holiday for Ascension/Pentecost!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.