The french quarter

I woke at 4.04am thanks to a distant cockerel, then again at 5ish. Dawn chorus this time. Eventually I got up at 7.20 after dozing. I decided to take an early trip to the allotment as our compost bucket was overflowing, so on my bike and there to do a bit of watering before returning at about 8.30 for breakfast in the garden. It was already hot. I had thought the forecast was for rain. I had even hoped it would, as the garden is in need of a drink, but no rain, just a very warm day.

I did a bit of cleaning and planted more seeds, but couldn’t face weeding in the heat. I did pot up some geraniums in my pots at the front and after picking the rest of my radishes in the greenhouse, I planted a few more and weeded around them. Henry and I moved the broken old bench from our raised gravel area, and we have now made it into a shaded seating area for 2, and a perfect spot for morning coffee. Henry and I relaxed there for a while and I went back on and off throughout the day. How can we have moved a couple of bits of furniture in our relatively small garden, and now feel like we’ve got a new garden! Jon calls this bit the french quarter, and is now more inspired to get the patio worked on this weekend( which we are overlooking from here)

But apart from those few things, I’m beginning to wonder what I did with my day really. Now watching the real marigold hotel which we like.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.