Jon has new bees!

I had a day off today. Yes, I know, another one. But I’m worth it. I had a lie in too. Jon went out at 8, to pick up his new nucleus, which is the name for a new bee family starter kit! They were carefully positioned next to his empty hive for them to get used to their new surroundings, and tomorrow or the next day, he will move them into his hive. Then we will keep our fingers crossed that they grow strong and build themselves into a strong colony. He has had an empty hive for several years and so was pleased to find someone in Norwich who breeds bees. If that’s the right term!

Then after coffee we went shopping. Jon to Lidl and me to Co-op where I was super excited to get a packet of yeast as Mollie had begun to ration it, using less than the recipe said to make our weekly pizza bases. At least we can continue having lovely home made pizza now.

I’ve had another relaxed day. Sat in the french garden (we are both calling it that now!) reading and watching the birds. We chatted about getting the patio done. Jon also needs to get to Manchester to empty Mollie’s student house. Ideally before he starts his new job on 8th June. I was sent a link to a British history website which has free access until September, so I’ve also been looking on there for family history links.

A bit of knitting and now Gardeners World. Looks like it is going to be another hot weekend. Hope it is an enjoyable one for you all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.