BabyDriver

By BabyDriver

Imprisonment - Day 62

Imprisonment - Day sixty two
Friday 22nd May 2020

Cycling Statistics
Cars - 21
Motorbikes - 0
Bikes - 1
Dog walkers - 2
Walkers - 1
Runners - 1
Horses - 0
Horse walkers - 0
Molehills - 0
Cycling temperature - 13.8c

There's a new dog walker who I've now seen over half a dozen times and he has been awarded the name of Lotsa Dogs as he walks down one of the lanes with over half a dozen dogs which are all over the place as he doesn't keep any of them on a lead. He's a nice chap though who always says good morning as he tries to get his pack of dogs out of my way.

I spent the whole blustery windy day flatting back and polishing the Bentley. I have to cut it back and then polish it to see if I'm happy with the result and if not I have to repeat the operation until I get a good flat surface. The side of the bonnet which I was only ninety percent happy with is now perfect and I use it as my guide to the standard I want the other areas to attain. After a day's hard graft I'm now happy with the quality of the whole nearside but the hind quarter and the offside needs more work. The palm polisher works well and I used it to flat back by putting a sanding sponge under the polishing head. The intermediate result gave the paintwork a snake like appearance.

Unfortunately things have taken a backwards step as when I turned the Bentley round yesterday on uneven ground I heard a cracking sound and wondered what it was today I found out that it was one of my fibre glass repairs had given way as it did not flex with the body. I chiselled of the offending patch and will replace it tomorrow with a thinner layer of woven fibreglass in the hope that a thinner layer will flex with the body.

The white paint for our bed and the garden furniture arrived today so tomorrow if the wind dies down I will be bed painting with a break now and then to do the fibre glassing on the Bentley bodywork.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.