Mr John

By MrJohn

Captain .....

..... of the death squad.

This afternoon once the hangover from Yesterday's beer had subsided, I headed in to Bradford for a bit of a potter. First stop was the Chinese buffet for a late lunch and then off to Bradford 1 Gallery for a bit of culture.

For once it wasn't the work in the photography gallery that caught my eye, but the paintings in the gallery space next door. The current exhibition of of large oils on canvas by Ken Currie, including this one who's title is also the title of today's blip. There's something a bit dark and eerie about Curries work that I find compelling.

After my culture fix I had a wander up to the market and popped in to the cafe for a cuppa. As usual it was full of interesting characters who all seemed to know one another and whilst I was there there was almost a fist fight a heated debate going on about weather it was acceptable to pinch someones arse in public. I was very tempted to ask a few of the folk in the cafe for portraits, but it didn't seem like the right time today.

I spent a bit longer in Bradford than planned as there was a torrential hail storm with thunder and lightening, so I decided to shelter from the storm and have another cuppa next to the City Park until the weather had subsided a bit.

Mr P has been around this evening helping me to put the wood burning stove back together. He's done a great job of welding new threaded bar on to the stove pipe attacments as they were too tricky to drill and tap. I now have a frontroom full of soot and rust to tidy up but that just adds to the usual ' lived in ' look it usually has.

As I didn't fancy joining in the debate on arse pinching in the cafe, today's blip is .....


..... Captain of the death squad.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.