Two churches . . . . . . . . .

. . . . . . . both alike in dignity, in fair old Oban, where we lay our scene.

Sorry, that just popped into my head!

These two churches, both on Oban’s Esplanade, are separated only by the Alexandra Hotel. The RC St Columba’s Cathedral, at the back, was first opened in 1934 but was not completed, together with its tower, until 1959. The nearer Church of Scotland ‘Christ Church Dunollie’, as it was originally, was opened in 1957 and closed in 2013. It’s now a Childcare Nursery.

Rather a gloomy day, but we did our usual afternoon walk, down one way and back another!

Quote of the Day:

Benjamin Franklyn (after narrowly avoiding a shipwreck) - “Were I a Roman Catholic, perhaps I should on this occasion vow to build a chapel to some saint, but as I am not, if I were to vow at all, it should be to build a light-house.”

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.