TMBKLYN

By TMBKLYN

S'wonderful...s'marvelous...

Hello Blip-pals! After a crazy several days of yo-yoing between Brooklyn and Manhattan from early morning to long after sunset several times a day...I am finally sitting at home on my sofa posting a blip. This photo, which I think may well be one of my best as far a colors go, was taken from the F train between the Smith and 9th Street and Fourth Ave stops. This Kentile Floor sign, in place since about 1949, is a Brooklyn Classic. Peter Hamill has written about it, it has appeared in movies and it can be seen from miles away. I look for it when flying back home if we come in from the South. I look for it when I'm driving along the Gowanus Expressway, Fourth Ave, down Prospect Ave, up the ramp outside the Brooklyn Battery Tunnel as it rises to meet the Prospect Expressway. I looked out the window as I was speaking to my husband (refer to my Attention Passenger Blip for more on this) when I looked out the window, saw this view, the light and the colors of the elevated subway, the buildings, the sky, the clouds and the sign and promptly hung upon him to take this pic. "Gotta go! Love you! See you! Bye!" Enjoy!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.