TMBKLYN

By TMBKLYN

Toto...I Have a Funny Feeling we're not in Kansas

A fuzzy not totally in focus blip-pic...I know...more like a blip-blur...but here's the backstory. Our primary commuting car is in the shop...and in the shop it shall stay until Monday at the earliest. I am, as you know, happy to commute between Brooklyn, NY and Ocean Grove, NJ via NJ Transit. My husband, he formerly of habitats where one must and does travel anywhere and everywhere via their trusted vehicle -- the car -- is not at all keen on alternate methods of commuting. For example, my Brooklyn Heights office is within a block of his. In fact, we are on the same block, just at opposite ends and opposite sides. I take the subway and often walk. He, on the other hand, drives. Determined to get to OG I convince him to travel with me by train. Which he does. (Bonus points for Ron!) With husband and pooch in tow we take the subway, walk a few blocks from the subway to Penn Station and jump on the NJ Transit Coastal Line. Shortly after we pull out of the tunnel and into NJ, I look out the window and see...Kansas! Holy cow! Nothing but amber waves of...well...not grain exactly...but amber waves of NJ wetland grasses...and low buildings on the horizon...storm clouds that look as though they could produce a tornado...and if you look closely you can see that the rain from the clouds evaporates before hitting the ground. (This, my pilot husband tells me,is called a virga.)Yes, Toto,I have a funny feeling we're not in Kansas anymore...but dang it, I sure did think we were...for a moment at least! Where is that darned rainbow? Wait! I feel a song coming on!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.