TMBKLYN

By TMBKLYN

Some folks work hard searching for somethin'

...they can see so plain in their dog's tail a thumping! (HEY PACKY' Loudon Wainwright, III). I love my dog!!! I didn't want my dog...my daughter wanted my dog...but her dog has now become my dog and I wouldn't trade her for the world! Her mother is a Havanese straight from Cuba, an immigrant. Her papa is a poodle about whom I know nothing. Pacqui was the runt of the litter. She is missing an ear and has a mean overbite which makes watching her eat and drink quite amusing. But she is happy, devoted, patient, fun and a great companion. When I first met my husband and after our first few dates he turned to me one day and asking "Say, how much did you pay for this dog?" I immediately became defensive "What do you mean? She's a fine dog! She's a wonderful dog!" Etc etc etc. His reply? "No! what I meant is, whatever you paid, it wasn't enough! She's a great dog!" By jimminy! This could be "the one!" One morning I woke up early and went down stairs to start the coffee. When I can back upstairs I found that Pacqui had moved from her spot at the foot of the bed and had taKen my place, her head on the pillow and her back pushed up against Ron's, both of them happily sleeping...and snoring. This is a photo of Pacqui resting with me on the sofa and looking at me with her questioning look I've come to know so well...implying that perhaps it's time for me to feed her...or give her a treat? Or...perhaps...throw the ball so she can chase it, catch it and make it squeak? It sure can be boring around here on a Saturday! I love boring Saturdays...and my dog...and "our" husband, too!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.