Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Elegant Trogan

Yesterday's Elf Owl blip.

In Madera Canyon the  Elegant Trogan  is THE most sought after bird by photographers and birders alike.  I have been trying to capture one for at least 10 years.  Today was the day.  He and the Missus have been hanging out in the trees right across from the casitas.   Elegant Trogon Range Map.  As you can see, it barely  crosses the border into SE Arizona.  That's why it's so coveted. I'm hoping to get a better angle with less wind blowing before I leave.

I had my coffee on the porch then to the viewing area where I had some pleasant conversations.  I was always in the sun (they've taken away the shaded chairs because of CoVid-19) and even though the temperature hovered around 80°/27° the sun was hot.  It was when I returned to the casita that the Trogan made this appearance.  There was an amazing breeze so I had both lunch and dinner outside and did a few crossword puzzles.

A Berylline hummingbird has been spotted and Steve recommended I try to see it around 5 am (HA!) or just before last light. I might try tomorrow evening.  I know exactly where to look for him.
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.