Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

MM: Sandhill Crane

No one was more surprised to see a Sandhill Crane at Canoa Lake than me.  Thousands of these birds migrate through the area (especially at an area called Whitewater Draw) earlier in the year.  This straggler is about two months overdue to have flown to its summer home.  It was another fairly windy day so as it strut by me in the distance, its feathers got a little riled up. I mentioned to a friend that I was going out there in the morning so she let me borrow her 500mm lens - and I needed every millimeter and more.

The results for mono Monday might be posted a little later than usual because I will be headed to the mountains late Tuesday through Friday afternoon.  I haven't decided if I'm going to bother dragging my computer up there since the internet is so sketchy.  I put off my trips to the zoo until next Saturday and Sunday so I have those to look forward to when I get back.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.