Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Cool Spot

back blip

I took a ride to the canyon to straighten out my reservations.  I wasn't planning to stay very long but I heard that a Berylline hummingbird had been sighted.  It was in the same pyracantha bush where I got a baby last year. So I sat on the end of the same bench staring at the bush intently.  Nothing.  I finally told a guy near me that I felt really stupid staring at a bush.  I had to settle for this female black-headed grosbeak, a really dull colored bird.  The male is much more colorful.  But sometimes you take what you can get...and she was it.  I was there less than an hour.  I will stalk that infrequent little visitor more when I'm up there on Wednesday and Thursday (my only two full days).  If you click on the link and check out the ebird  reporting map you can see how few sightings  have been in southeastern Arizona.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.