GONE FISHING

Day 73 of my lockdown.

Great start to the day with a brilliant TaiChi QiGong session with C and friends.  Gus made an entrance and promptly fell asleep after his exertions up The Knott.  

After lunch I thought I'd take the car for a practice run for going to visit Mum tomorrow.  I just wanted to go to Newby Bridge and take photos of the bridge itself, something I've not yet done.

What-a-mistake-a-too-make-a (courtesy of 'Allo 'Allo), the pul in place down the side road was totally full.  So I thought I'd zoom up to Lakeside and turn around - wrong - I tried, but there was a car blocking the way (I think they were just finding their way (darn day trippers, or worse, holiday makers).  So I ended up going to Esthwaite Water.

No problem I thought, I go there in August and its always quiet.  WRONG AGAIN.  The car park was almost FULL!!  I've never ever seen it like that.  About 3 cars were locals getting out and about.  There were also fishermen out in boats, I didn't know the boat hire place were allowed to open or selling fishing permits, but of course they could be season ticket holders and are allowed to just help themselves.

However there were quite a lot of day trippers/holiday makers aaaarrgghhhh!

I grabbed a couple  of quick shots and just came home, so didn't get my gentle walk at all.  I've added one of a family of ducks that I took 'cos I loved the fact that I've got them all looking my way.

There were also a lot of holiday[makers/day trippers on the road - looking for places and not finding anywhere open or toilets available - OF  COURSE - WE'RE STILL IN LOCK DOWN!!!

I had forgotten that it was Bank Holiday Monday though.   The locals getting out about or going to and from work fine, but there were an awful lot that we obviously day trippers.  AaAh well - lesson learnt, not going that far again.  

Sadly all the day trippers in all of the UK's holiday hotspots could mean another spike in Covid-19.  I was just surprised that people were being so thoughtless I suppose, especially as nothing is open yet.  Esthwaite was a revelation as that's never usually busy at all.  

I even saw a group of cyclists and motorcyclists - obviously not all from one family - too many of them.  There were others that were families or just singles or doubles though.

That's me done for the day.   Looking forward to having coffee with Mum in her garden tomorrow morning, just for a couple of hours, but will avoid The Prom as it has been heaving apparently.  

Take care, do stay safe and don't go too far from home please.  See you all tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.