KatesGardenPDX

By KatesGardenPDX

A Murky Day

There was a steady sprinkle this morning - straight on through until about 1:00 ish. My girlfriends and I had a game of golf around noon and the raindrops really weren't problematic, but when it stopped it just seemed very damp and humid. The game wasn't bad, and the company fun.

The garden is growing by leaps and bounds and starting to fill in. I only let the Nigella damascena - 'Love-in-a-Mist' - grow in a confined area below my garden wall because it re-seeds so readily and is so happy growing in our temperate climate that it truly becomes a nuisance. They're just starting to bloom and this one - what a unique color! I haven't seen anything quite like it in my garden before. Deep and pale blue, pink as well as white but never this marbling. I did buy two plants last year that were interesting but of course I don't remember what they were. Perhaps this is one?

A quick google search netted a similar looking blossom at a seed company in the UK that calls this seed 'Miss Jekyll' although I find no other reference anywhere to this specific color. But I loved the description of Miss Jekyll that they posted: 

"Miss Gertrude Jekyll, 1843-1932, from Munstead near Godalming in Surrey had interests in furniture carving, silver work, interior design, photography but above all plants and gardening. She was an active gardener, wore stout boots and, being severely myopic, strong glasses. She developed new strains of plants such as Aquilegias, Primrose and Honesty and wrote many books and articles on her favourite subject."

I like to think that this fabulously mysterious and gorgeous creature was born in  Miss Jekyll's garden! How fun!

Thank you so much for all of your lovely comments and stars and hearts over the weekend - I've gotten behind again but will attempt to catch up tonight! 

Be well dear Blipmates! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.