The second half of life..

By twigs

Day 63 - Boulder Bank sundown

After my trip to the Boulder Bank yesterday I had thought that it could be quite cool to see a sunset from high up over the Bank and the mudflats so this evening, I took the drone out there and to record it.  The mudflats are certainly interesting - the Boulder Bank itself less so.  I like that the port and city lights are just beginning to twinkle in the early dusk light at the far end of the Bank.  It was definitely very cool, in more ways that one, so it was lovely to get home to a cosy house with the fire already lit.  Take a peek at the extra too - 180 degrees in opposite direction.

Late this afternoon I caught the news that the two young missing trampers who had hadn't been seen since they left on a tramp in the Kahurangi National Park on May 9th had been found alive and relatively well given their lack of food, a couple of nights of heavy rain and temperatures as low as -8 degrees.  I was stunned to hear the news as I had to confess, I'd begun to fear the worst.  What an absolutely fabulous outcome for them, their families and the countless Search and Rescue personnel who had worked tirelessly to scour what is a very large and rugged area.

In COVID news, all zeros again today on the 'negative' statistics, but on the positive side, 1 more recovery bringing our active cases down to 21 and, more importantly, the last person to be in hospital has been discharged so there are now no COVID patients in hospitals :D  Great result.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.