Forget-me-not

A dry day today, nice enough if not thrilling! I haven't been out, well not out of the garden anyway, not even our usual walk. I've been repairing the deck, replacing some rotten slats, and then sorting out a trough for Mrs M to grow herbs in, drilling holes for drainage and filling with compost. 

So a home Blip today; one of my favourite plants, Myosotidium  hortensia, the Chatham Island Forget-Me-Not. This lovely evergreen perennial is endemic, not surprisingly, to the Chatham Islands, which sit to the east of New Zealand's South Island. It's not totally hardy, but usually OK on the west coast. I've grown it off and on for years, and also the white form. I bought three plants earlier this year and this is the first flower opening. Something I must always have.

Quote of the Day:

Claude Monet “I must have flowers, always, and always.” 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.