Heath Spotted Orchid

I decided to visit Woodbury Common this morning and headed for the area that tends to be boggy in wet weather.  It was very warm and sunny an amazing 20C before 9am.  I soon found areas that were covered with what I believe are Heath Spotted Orchids although they can be confused with the Common Spotted Orchids.  I will revisit to check the leaf detail another day. I had great fun exploring an area I don't usually walk and came across lots of Cotton grass and then a small stream and a pool.  A large blue dragon fly was flitting back and forth across the water.  I couldn't find a way to make the walk circular and so retraced my steps.  Another visit is required to explore further while the ground is fairly dry.

It was then back home and tidying up the allotment, and netting the blackcurrant bush.  I think I will try again with the French beans planting them out straight away.  The transplanted ones seem much too fragile.

This evening was a camera club meeting shared with two neighbouring camera clubs, it seems to be the way to do these virtual meetings with lecturers these days.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.