Looking Down

It was a much better picture when Ozzie started barking and this fellow was standing on the front porch looking in the front door, but by the time I got my camera, the wrong one at that, he was heading down the steps to the front lawn.

We saw a bat at dusk the other evening and a hawk sitting on the squirrel's accustomed place on the bird feeder. Needless to say there wasn't another bird in sight.

I couldn't put it off any longer. I had to go to the lab for a routine blood draw first thing this morning. Since it was the first time I have driven anywhere in awhile, I saw this as a chance to get a slightly more interesting picture than of late. My car wouldn't start probably because the battery in the key had died. As a result, added to to the early hour, or more likely just lack of practice, I forgot my camera and my phone.

I was greeted just inside the entrance to the medical building by a nurse giving out masks to anyone who didn't have one, asking if I had any symptoms and taking my temperature. I was given a gold star sticker to announce that I had passed. Unlike the woman ahead of me who was holding her t-shirt over her nose and mouth with one hand, I had my homemade mask, color coded to go with my jeans and was allowed to proceed while she fumbled with the mask the nurse handed her. Fearing being trapped in the elevator with another human, I took the stairs, trying not to touch the handrail.  There were two doors to negotiate at the bottom of the stairs. 'Don't touch your face, don't touch your face' I muttered to myself....Half the chairs had been taken out of the waiting room, and the rest were filled. The door was locked, forcing a few of us to lurk in the hallway with our backs to each other.

Once in the inner sanctum, I was pierced, drained of several vials of blood and sent on my way with a large red bandage around my arm...all in less than five minutes....

Trail House was closed and while I was ascertaining this, I got blocked by a large garbage truck and had to wait  until it maneuvered its way down the narrow driveway with a large menacing fork lift.

By the time I got out of there, I was more than happy to scurry home, make my own coffee, do a zoom Pilates ball class, and finish the Covid quilt. I have the batting and the backing, but I'm not sure how I'm going to accomplish putting the parts together. Nothing is simple these days, but we seem to have settled in to our sheltered routine at home....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.