IT MIGHT LOOK A MESS.....

…..but I do know what I’m doing!  As I said yesterday, I had a lot of work to do sorting out my recorded poems, and I spent a lot of yesterday afternoon - apart from our Afternoon Tea with our neighbours, Lynn and Mike, and a friend of theirs, Phil - working on this.

I had spoken to Shirley, the Station Manager, the day before and found out what I should do once the poems were recorded, but there were a couple of glitches getting into the system remotely, so I had to ask for help from the technical guys - and it was forthcoming very quickly.

Shirley had told me to ring her when I was ready, but I wanted to try and do it on my own.  However, after I had uploaded the poems to the “cart” as it’s called, I realised that I had saved them in a format that wasn’t compatible with what was needed, so had to ring and speak to Shirley and tell her what had happened.  She was very patient with me, even though I told her I felt like crying and gave me some cart numbers of my own, so that I could amend the poems and then save them to my personal cart wall.

I spent the morning sorting everything out, amended the poems in Audacity, made an Excel spreadsheet, found out the length of each one and then, having accessed the Radio Station remotely, wanted to upload them - only to find that there were two items in the very middle of my cart wall!  However, I will not be beaten and am now waiting to hear back from Shirley as to what I should do - I just  hope that no-one else gets into my cart before she responds! 

So instead of a beautiful daisy that was going to be my Blip for today, I decided that it would be my desk mess working copies and the screen.  If you look closely at the screen, you will see my reminder that pops up every day just before 12 to remind me to say "The Lord’s Prayer" at noon.  

I know in the scheme of things, this isn’t that important, but it was good to be working and I must admit, has given me a “buzz” for a couple of days.  However, I think perhaps I need to go over to my sanctuary and field, have a sing to calm me down and then come back to do some more recording. 

“Within you, there is a stillness 
     and a sanctuary 
          to which you can retreat 
               at any time 
                    and be yourself.” 
Hermann Hesse (1877-1962)
German-born Swiss poet, novelist, and painter.

P.S.  If my Blip friend, Evolybab, looks closely, she will see that I have even put the reminder near my screen to send her some poppy seeds!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.