A GREAT BLIPMEET AND A LOVELY SURPRISE!

When Turnx3 messaged me a few weeks ago and said they were coming to England and asked if they could come and see Mr. HCB and me, I was a bit dubious because I knew it was bang in the middle of the cricket season.  Sure enough, when we checked the calendar, Mr. HCB was due to be at cricket at Cheltenham for four days this week, taking his cricket buddy, Keith.  However, despite the fact that Mr. HCB wouldn’t be here, Pam and her husband Roger said they would still like to come!  I waved Mr. HCB off and didn’t expect to see him until about 8 p.m. this evening.

A few days ago, I suddenly thought that if my Blip friend, HeidiAndDolly, was free, it might be fun for her to come too, as I knew she followed Turnx3 on Blip, and they had never met, so messages went back and forth between us confirming times.  However, we both thought it would be a lovely surprise for Pam and Roger to meet Heidi, but not tell them she would be here.

I needed to go out and do some last-minute shopping, but because Mr. HCB needed the car, I had to go early, so was waiting for Morrisons to open at 7 a.m.  I managed to get the salad chopped and everything else done before Heidi arrived and then about half an hour later Pam and Roger arrived.  Thankfully, Pam recognised Heidi and they were thrilled to meet each other for the first time.

We had a coffee first, took the obligatory selfie for our Blips, then had lunch and I don’t think we stopped talking the whole time.  It was just a bit sad because Mr. HCB wasn’t with us, but at about 2.15 my phone rang and I knew by the ringtone that it was Mr. HCB.  He said that sadly because of the rain last night, the match had been abandoned without a ball being bowled, and although he was sad about that, he said that he would be home in an hour and hoped that Pam, Roger and Heidi would still be here.

You can see by the collage that they were still here and then we spent a lovely hour chatting, drinking tea and eating home-made cake and of course, we had to take more photographs to prove that Mr. HCB was around too. The sun came out and it is now bright sunshine, so Mr. HCB is hoping that we don’t have any more rain so that cricket will be resumed tomorrow.  

It was wonderful to see Pam, Roger and Heidi again and I am so pleased that Mr. HCB made it home to see them too - just a shame about the cricket, but there’s always tomorrow!  

"Happiness is being content with what you have, 
     living in freedom and liberty, 
          having a good family life
               and (sharing food with) good friends."
Divyanka Tripathi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.