MONO MONDAY - SHADOWS

Mr. HCB went off to cricket quite early, so I have been beavering away since he went “dysoning”, dusting, and cleaning floors and windows - because there is a Blipmeet at our house tomorrow.  I love having visitors because it makes me look more closely at the dust and think about moving it!

However, in between all that housework whilst listening to some classical music, I have been in and out of the garden like a yoyo every time the sun came out from behind a cloud because I saw a shadow of the rose bush on our blue fence - it looked good, because the blue is so vibrant, but then when I turned it to black and white, it didn’t look as good.

I decided to look up the meaning of the word “mono” and Mr. Google says this:

“Monochrome means the presentation of a single color in different shades. This just means that a single color is depicted in different values and intensities. The color remains the same but the elements that differ are the brightness, lightness, darkness or dullness of the color.”  

So now we know and because I like the blue fence, I have decided to leave it as I have taken it - and the shadow is a darker shade of blue - so it's mono!

I rather liked this quote about shadows in our lives:

“So don't be frightened, dear friend, 
     if a sadness confronts you 
          larger than any you have ever known, 
               casting its shadow over all you do. 
You must think that something is happening within you, 
     and remember that life has not forgotten you; 
          it holds you in its hand and will not let you fall. 
Why would you want to exclude from your life 
     any uneasiness, any pain, any depression, 
          since you don't know 
               what work they are accomplishing within you?” 
Rainer Maria Rilke :  Letters to a Young Poet

P.S. Several friends responded to my request for more information about my derelict Blip yesterday - one said it was the Skew Bridge Pub and bought by Dave King, a comedian - and another said that he had sold it in in 1982/3 for around £25,000 - and that it wasn’t an easy sale right on the bridge.  He also said it hadn’t been occupied for some time, which was evident from the state of the property.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.