That time of day

When something has to be done. The morning was a write off and, though the sun came out this afternoon, it was pretty weak fare. The ground is so saturated none of the usual walks appealed so I went over to see the guys on their rail. I explained what I wanted to them to do - gain some height then swoop down out of the sun. But they weren't up for it. They're morning gulls and like to take the afternoon off. The swans were swanning but I'm way over my swan ration for January. Wait a minute, it's February. Yeah!

I'm keeping a sharp eye on the snowdrops and the flowers are forming nicely, but they're not quite there yet. A heavy day tomorrow. Already planning breakfast of sausage, bacon, egg, baked beans, mushroom and tomato with a bit of toast. That should set me up for the Red Cow in Richmond at noon and a lengthier session than usual ahead of the later kick off at 4 pm when England take on the Flower of Scotland. I can never watch these matches without thinking of the late great Bill McLaren whose commentary epitomised the sportsmanship of rugby. I hope the Scots will be in good voice tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.