Saturday's painting...

...from my daily challenge of a painting a day.

Sunrise pastel.

Got back after my drive.

But 5 miles, the new maximum limit of distance you can drive in Wales, does not take you very far. I had one glimpse of the river as I went round a roundabout and then back to just houses either side again. So no beautiful scenery unless you include the gas power station.

But I just managed to reach a small retail park just as I reached the five mile limit, which is where I used to do my food shopping pre-Coronavirus lockdown. So I thought well, maybe I'll come here next week to get my food shopping instead of at the Polish shop.

The thing with the Polish shop, at the bottom, where I've been doing a lot of my shopping is I have to have a translator app on my mobile to know what I am buying because it's all in Polish Russian and other East European languages. I do have an Iceland, but the aisles are very narrow and since Coronavirus they made it in one way system which is all too narrow for me to be able to use my mobility scooter and too far for me to walk around the entire store. So I've had to give up with Iceland at the bottom. The Polish shop has very narrow aisles as well.

So I have been restricted in my essential food shopping.

Then I decided to do next weeks shopping now in this new location 5 miles away, because the Polish shop doesn't sell hand wash or kitchen towels and I was minus them, and a few more things, this last week's shop. I have my mask my gloves with me so I was all set to go anyway.

So I managed to go to freezer shop and get Blueberries, and various other things I needed but haven't been able to get at the local shops. And the aisles in all these shops were wide, and my mobility scooter goes round easily (and it meant I could recharge the battery for that when I got home). So I was pleased.

The shops were just about empty at that time. People were social distancing and polite and smiley. It was much more pleasant than when I try to shop very local.

Then I decided to continue to use my mobility scooter to get to the high street, a few minutes away, to check out my dentist. I have an appointment next week, and I had heard nothing. He usually texts to remind me the week before. I had emailed but got nothing back.

Anyway I was in for a disappointment. The notice on the shop front said it was closed now, shut down completely (inside was emptied), and no information how to get another dentist.

So, I knew there was another dentist on the high street, and so went past there. This dentist had a notice in the window saying shut because of coronavirus, and they were not treating any patients. There was a landline number for the Dental Hospital in Rhyl (over 20 miles away) but only for emergency treatment. Basically, say if you lost a filling then  they wouldn't fill your tooth, but extract it.

So, I have toothache these last two weeks which I had hoped my Dentist was going to check next week at the check up. So, it is back to the Clove oil again. If I went to the dental hospital in Rhyl, they would pull this tooth out, and it is the holding tooth to keep my top falsies in...

So me is not a very happy bunny.

So, I came back home the coast road, because I was unable to go to the Expressway because apparently it is shut at the moment from England for a good few miles into Wales. It is the Gateway to Wales. I had been hoping to drive home that way and then I could have seen the views across the river. I don't know why the Expressway is closed. There was no info on that.

I start to drive home and there is a big police presence. Witches hats (I have no idea of the proper name for these, oh I know...traffic cones!) all along the pavement and the middle of the road to guide/channel us along for quite a long way. The police didn't stop the traffic on my side, but the traffic the other way. I am still in Wales this is about 4 to 5 miles into Wales from the border.The police were just waving my side of the road through. But stopping traffic on the other side which was coming further into Wales.

There were no police when I had come through earlier just after 7:30, but there was literally no traffic then.

I had half suspected when I came through earlier, because there was a temporary white cabin on that side of the road, that there might be a police road block there...

I was glad to get home, but on the positive side, it was a much easier place to shop, (and I wasn't as exhausted as I am trying to walk round the very local shops) and to be able to use my mobility scooter, but I do need to be out very very early.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.