Summer Day - Baking Day!

Summer really seems to have arrived with warm air, blue skies, trees turning green, and eating both breakfast and dinner outside! Apart from those two meals and one 30 minute fast walk I spent the entire day indoors! Sometimes I get a bit carried away...
I got up this morning and while waiting for the kettle to boil, started on stage 1 of making the sourdough loaf that I was planning for Jan's birthday tea. It's a new recipe for me, producing a chocolate, nut and fruit loaf.  Once I got going I couldn't stop! So much so that this is our "breakfast" table, outside in the warm sun. The inverted commas are there because it WAS the first meal of the day but it was eaten at 2 o'clock. Jan had been making jam, and then working in the garden, while I was busily constructing bread. (Jan gets equally carried away...) 
In the end my production was two 100% rye loaves baked, and in the fridge, waiting to be baked, are two chocolate sourdoughs loaves, and two "normal" sourdough loaves, ready for tomorrow morning.
I'm particularly pleased with the rye loaves because I baked them earlier this month and the result was not good. I can't cut into today's rye loaves until tomorrow but from the outside they look much, much better than the earlier attempt. Still a slight sag, so not perfect but good enough. (Even the disaster loaves have been eaten, and tasted good.)
A very happy and productive day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.