Failures are a learning experience...

Some days the baking goes well, the loaves come out looking beautiful, and they get photographed and even maybe make it onto Blipfoto as a main or an extra.
However, other days it doesn't go as well and in the interests of truth, fairness, and showing reality I thought I'd post a picture of one of the failures.
This is a 100% rye flour loaf, using a recipe from Foodgeek, who is Danish and thus knows about rye loaves. It was my first attempt at such a bread. It all looked good until halfway through the bake when the loaf basically collapsed in on itself. The result? Not quite "porridge with a crust" but not so far away. 
I think I left it to rise for too long, so the internal structure ended up too weak. (Foodgeek warns about this.) Maybe I'll try again another day. (Update - I WILL try another day!)
All was not lost! I'd made two loaves using my normal recipe (also a foodgeek recipe) and that worked well, so I knew I had got some bread to eat.  But what about the rye bread? I sliced it and laid the slices on an oven tray to dry out, as the other bread baked.  It seemed to work and I now have a lot of pieces of something that is somewhere between a rusk and a slice of crisp bread. Fortunately it is perfectly edible and tastes as good as it should with all those good things it contains.
So, not a total disaster even if I ended up with a slightly different product to that I was expecting.
A learning experience...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.