All of 4" tall......

This is a Barbados Cherry I started growing 4 years ago.  I got it at the Bonsai Convention in Orlando.  It was a tiny, twiggy thing that the owner was going to throw in the garbage.  I offered to buy it, for the $3 dollars in my pocket.   The owner said sure, why not?,  if I wanted to throw my money away.
    I have nurtured  this little guy for a while, letting it grow to fatten up the trunk, then pinching back to get buds to back bud on the older wood.... which is where each branch came from.   Then it goes some more and the branches fattened up, and I pinched it some more to get twigging and leaves.  
     This year I have potted it up in a small pot, 2 1/2" long and !" wide.  It has been placed in bonsai soil, or small, aggregate stone.   I don't want this tree to get any bigger, but I do want it to be healthy and strong.  
     You can the tree is blossoming.  It is very healthy and strong, trying to develop fruit.  I am tickled as punch with how the tree came out.   
I will take a picture of the Boxwood tomorrow and post it.  That is the other tree I finished at the BYOT.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.