Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Grass

I had an extended walk over to the far corner of the moor, carrying on to Weecher via Birch Close Lane and then returning along Sconce Lane and back over the moor.

It was another baking day, and there seemed to be a lot of traffic on the roads but I only passed five or six pairs/groups of walkers in the three hours I was out; perhaps those with cars are venturing further afield again.

I saw quite a few Small Heath buterflies scattered thinly across the moor, and Small White, Small Tortoiseshell, Wall, Green-veined White and Cinnabar elsewhere on my walk. It's always good to see the Curlew and Lapwing in the unimproved pastures at the edge of the moor - even when they're buried deep in the long grass. I also managed a distant picture of a Whitethroat for the first time (extra).

For one further extra, a very appealing young white calf (extra), sadly already labelled for a future on someone's plate.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.