My topsy-turvy life

By Rathmandu

Long old Friday

It was a long old day today, I was up at Macc so had to start out early for the long drive. I got to Pathology, logged onto the computer, opened my emails and found out that as of late yesterday we had been mandated to carry out 200 coronavirus antibody tests -no doubt to make sure we hit some government target for May- over at Leighton. By the end of the day...
...I was at the wrong hospital...
Luckily my phlebotomy manager was on hand to sort out some staffing to get the samples done, 207 by the end of the day.
It didn't matter who actually had samples taken.
It didn't matter whether or not they had or not had covid-19.
It didn't matter whether they actually got sent to Stoke for testing.
It didn't matter that Stoke hadn't fully validated the test on site yet.
It didn't matter when we were going to get results back.
It only mattered that we got 200 done...and no care on how the normal service was affected.

I stopped off at Leighton, to see how it had gone, on my way home to make the journey even longer. When I finally got home I felt in need of a break. With Aaron at his Dad's it was relatively straightforward to get Owen out on his trike with Louisa for a bit of a walk around Radbrook pond, and before the sun went down too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.