MonoMonday: "Impromptu"

I've decided that blip is very good for you. (Well I think actually we all knew that already!)

Why do I say that? Well, today's MonoMonday challenge from laurie54, who is kindly hosting MM this month, is "Inpromptu" - and it "(im-)prompted" me (groan!) to have an impromptu (or "spur-of-the-moment") session of practice on my saxophone.

I'm by far the least musical member of my family; my elder brother in particular is very musical and as kids, when we had piano lessons, I struggled like mad while he seemed to sail through them. Clearly I missed out on the musical genes when they were being dished out. At school I did play the clarinet in the orchestra and while I had fun doing so I think I was the bain of the music teacher's life, always making mistakes. (I did however have the exceptional honour of playing in the orchestra next to John Harle, who in spite of being four years younger than me was orders of magnitude better than me. Unsurprisingly this did no good to my self-esteem: little did I know at the time that in years to come he'd be a world-famous clarinettist!)

I've not been a good boy (shame on me), in that it's ages since I did any music practice. This is in spite of my Editor very kindly buying me a lovely saxophone as a surprise for a "big birthday" several years ago. (For the uninitiated, playing a sax is very similar to playing a clarinet.) There's just so many other things (including blipping!) to fit into each day. But I do enjoy messing around on the sax, in spite of my congenital inability to excel at music. I'm hoping that posting this blip will stimulate me to play it more often. However we all know where the road leads which is paved with good intentions...!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.