My topsy-turvy life

By Rathmandu

Testing times

It was a bit of a restless night with lots of crying and upset -and that was just me. But Owen's temperature at least didn't reach the dizzy heights of yesterday and we did stay at home, albeit with not a lot of sleep.

So at half past 10 this morning we had to go to Ironbridge for our COVID-19 swabs. Owen had to have one so that Louisa and I could go back to work and Louisa and I got one to bolster government statistics because we're key workers. It was certainly different to last time and ended up being a bit of a shambles really. We couldn't really hear anything that was being said and they tried to say that Owen couldn't actually have a test because he didn't have a passport or driving licence.
Eventually they relented and dropped the kits in through the passenger window and beckoned us to a parking space to do our swab's ourselves. I think it felt worse doing it myself and getting a swab into the back of Owen's throat and then right up his nose was a herculean feat on Louisa's part. Aaron was just glad he didn't have to have one.
Then there was a massive queue to get out before they failed to scan Louisa's barcode and kept going round in circles trying to say we'd given them the wrong one. All because of a high temperature.

Through yesterday I came to the conclusion that I had to stay off work today, even though I'm completely asymptomatic. Owen's temperature means I should stay off for 14 days in isolation or until we get a negative result for Owen. That's what makes a mockery of us being tested really, if Owen is positive we all have to isolate for 14 days, if Owen is negative we can go back to work as we have no symptoms. Our tests are almost irrelevant.
At least I got the full VDI access sorted today and can actually work from home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.