Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Coati

I'm catching up on blips I missed posting during my Madera Canyon vacation.  I should have done them earlier but I got wrapped up in the mono Monday hosting stuff and tried to keep up-to-date as I went through the week.

A coatimundi (Ko- aa-ti-mun'-dee) or coati for short, is a member of the racoon family.  I had another member of the raccoon family visit me in the middle of the night.  A ringtail (often mistakenly called a ringtail cat), yanked out the yellow rubber ports from the hummingbird feeder I had hanging from the casita porch and lapped up all of the nectar.  He was very polite, though.  He placed the rubber ports neatly on the railing for me to find in the morning. Just like Arizona to select the ringtail, a nocturnal animal seldom seen, as the state mammal.  And I thought Maryland's state sport (jousting) was silly!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.