Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Today was hummingbird day so I made a collage.  I thought I made it under the wire for fire restrictions which were set to go into effect on Friday. The National Forest Service had other ideas.  It began this morning.  No grilling tonight. I always bring a spare can of beans (like a true camper) and extra cheese.  So it looks like that's going to be dinner. 

I'm giggling a little to myself right now because an older man is convinced he is seeing a red-tailed hawk and has dragged a young couple into the parking lot with him.  They're vultures.  The vultures circle around this time of day, just as the sun begins to set, and then one by one perch as a group in one particular tree.  While they were doing that, a Rivoli's hummingbird stopped by the feeder I have hanging from a tree limb.  It was the first I have seen during the entire trip.

The hummers in the collage are Black-chinned and Broad-billed (the colorful ones).  The light has to hit the black-chinned just right to see the pretty purple ring around its throat.  I will try to get a photo before I leave tomorrow. When I return to reality I'll sort this week's mono Monday entries. (Thanks for being patient.)

I cannot tell you how gorgeous the weather has been in the mountains and how nice the people staying in the casitas have been, too.  Most of us have been here at the same time and are all leaving in the morning.  I would totally live up here if they'd let me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.