Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Lockdown Day 73 - Town Activity

I haven't been into the local town since the lockdown started.  Today I walked down the canal to see what was happening at the moment, as the easing continued.  On the way I saw three groups of goslings and more exceptionally a canal boat lifting through the flight of locks just outside town.  I'd read yesterday that movements were  allowed from 13th May with the canal system reopening fully for longer journeys from the beginning of the month.  Looking at the algae that had built up and covered the water in the pounds between each lock I got the impression this was the first boat through.

In town there were a number of queues formed, all to visit the various banks that still commanded positions in the High Street.  I had a little chuckle to myself at the thought of the fourth man in the queue being allowed in still wearing his face mask!

Then I looped around to head back, passing a recently opened up sink hole in Stafford Street, before picking up the old railway line and canal to make my way home.  Thankfully, I did take my waterproof jacket as a persistent drizzle started to fall late in the morning.

Day Miles: 11.4 miles Total miles: 729.0 miles

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.