Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Crown Wharf Visitors

I got some news last night from the CAA.  I now have my permission for commercial operations (PfCO) so can legally offer and charge for imaging and video services using my drone.  I shall need to do a few jobs to recoup the cost of the course I took to gain the necessary experience to pass the CAA's requirements for a drone pilot, but I now have a much better grasp of the legal and aviation obligations to operate safely.

I wanted to celebrate with a drone shot and headed out early.  I'd pre planned a potential shot of the Crown Wharf in Walsall.  I had to find a suitable launch site which didn't contravene separation distances stipulated in the air navigation orders, which proved a little tricky and meant that after launch I had to reposition my viewing position to keep the drone in sight.  

I've put the photo as an extra as when I arrived at the wharf I came across 20 canal boats moored in the basin.  This is very unusual but was explained when I saw and spoke to one of the owners.  Apparently there is an annual trip organised around the Birmingham Canal Navigations (BCN).  They started in Wolverhampton yesterday, before heading towards Tipton today.  I imagine by Wednesday evening they will be in the centre of Birmingham before starting back either via the Tame Valley or Staffordshire and Worcester canal.

It really is amazing that so many years after their construction, 160 miles of the original 200 miles of the BCN are still navigable.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.