Glen of Beauty

Another good day today, tho' again it took a while to get going. I decided to visit both of my veg plots after lunch, so I went outside in the gentle morning sunshine to do some weeding. Within three minutes the rain began to fall. A few minutes later it stopped. What weather! 
 
I popped back into Homebase first to have a look for the Primula viallii I was asking about yesterday. They were selling quite large pots of it for £12, but one had been put on the floor, completely dried out. I asked at the till what would happen to it and was told that it would probably go on the cheapo trolley - he declined my offer of 5p for it! There it was – reduced to £2! I took it, noticing the most of the others on the stand were equally dried out, but still priced at £12. I think I got a bargain, assuming that it will recover. I’ve put a picture of it on as an extra.
 
I drove the main road way to Taynuilt and thence down Glen Lonan to the tunnel, where I planted some tomatoes and watered everything. Carrying on down the Glen in the Oban direction I thought again just how lovely the glen is, tho’ slightly spoilt by the half-harvested forestry on the hill slopes. I stopped at one point to look backwards and photograph Beinn Cruachan, head in the clouds. I couldn’t resist taking more picture of lambs and Highland cattle. I finished off with a quick visit to the Walled Garden – this route passes its gate – to check and water, and got home in time to have a cuppa in the sun and finish ‘Pride and Prejudice’! I roasted for 15 minutes, then the sun disappeared under a huge and heavy black cloud!
 
Quote of the Day:
 
Oscar Wilde - "Conversation about the weather is the last resort of the unimaginative."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.