Wild and wet

Dull again today, but I'd agreed with my friend Dave to visit Angus's Garden, right next door to the polytunnels in Glen Lonan, so I thought I'd kill two birds with one stone and pop in afterwards to plant my tomatoes. The garden was planted by his family in memory of Angus MacDonald who died in the fighting in Cyprus in the 60s.

Unfortunately the weather wasn't the best for photography - it was raining lightly when we arrived - so my plan to take photographs for Scotland's Gardens' Scheme fell slightly flat, though I did get a few reasonable ones, this being one of the best. The rhododendrons and azaleas were spectacular - the garden is an extremely informal one, quite wild - maybe a bit too wild! The sun did come out briefly while we were down at the loch at the bottom of the garden, so I put one of that, with Cruachan in the background, on as an extra. We rushed back into the garden to get some brighter pictures of rhododendrons, but the sun had disappeared before we got there!

I went next door to plant my toms, but was met by an amazing crop of weeds. Last time I was there I found a pile of soil in an old tunnel and barrowed a lot of it in to bring up the level of my bed. Unfortunately it must have been completely full of weed seeds, so after having grabbed several handfuls of nettles and thistles I gave up, put the toms back into the car and came home. I'll have to go back soon to clear the bed and will choose a sunny day so I can pop back into the garden.

Quote of the Day:

Walt Disney – “I don’t like formal gardens. I like wild nature. It’s just the wilderness instinct in me, I guess.”

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.