Life's tangled skein

By atp

Across The Rooftops To The Palace

I went out for a run in Linlithgow today, and saw this view over the town to Linlithgow Palace. Once I had finished the run, I drove back to the spot to get the picture (it's always fun to watch people's reactions when you're doing non-running things but in running gear!)

Anyway, Linlithgow Palace. A structure has been around on this site since the twelfth century; the current building was a favourite of Scottish monarchs in the 15th and 16th centuries, but it fell into disrepair in the 17th and 18th centuries. It is now maintained by Historic Scotland and is a fascinating place to visit. In December 2012 it was used as the backdrop for Chanel's annual fashion show.

In front of the Palace, St Michael's Church. Most of the building is from the 15th century, and it is topped by a striking "aluminium crown" that was added in 1964 - I can only imagine the controversy thta that would have caused at the time yet now it is one of the things that defines Linlithgow itself.

Again, snapped on my toy TX5. I do rather wish I had had a better camera with me for this one...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.