Colgaize82

By Colgaize82

The Downhill

I love downhill running but I try not to do too much of it as a) I feel it’s not as beneficial to my fitness as uphill & undulating routes (maybe, I could stand corrected?) & b) it’s quite a pressure on my knees (I don’t want to admit that, so I won’t say it out loud!)

However, this morning I treat myself.

Once I’d reached the top of Latrigg, I decided not to head towards the base of Skiddaw to follow the zigzag route back down the fell that I usually do & just to dive right in to the ‘way home’ path.

It was excellent fun- much better than any rollercoaster ride or other form of contrived high that may be thought to supply the same level of dopamine!

My downhill was accompanied by tracks such as ‘You’re the Voice’ & ‘Town Called Malice’ which we’re perfectly fitting for the activity & I felt great on reaching home.

It just goes to show really: embracing the downhill will ultimately make us stronger!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.