A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

Babies

The young wildlife isn’t only to be found on our local pond.

The Magnolia tree with the feeders was awash with activity early today. The feeders were mainly occupied by Goldfinch but there were lots of tits, blue and coal and several youngsters. I wasn’t sure if these were Bluetits or Coaltits but just before taking this a very clear Bluetit was feeding them.

Lovely to watch even through the window. Lots of preening and feather stretching. 

Yesterday I had a follow up phone call from the Dr about my chest infection a couple of months ago. All is fine but I mentioned my knee, she said I should ring the surgery today and ask for another telephone appt. So that decided that we weren’t going out. The right decision and despite lovely spells of sunshine the rain/hail showers have been very heavy. As I was in I decided to do the Friday morning singing. Just got set up and my phone call came. No problems just keep using the anti inflammatory gel or tablets.

After singing I spotted a young squirrel which I’ve seen before on the wall at the top of the garden. It was sitting under the feeders eating the seeds dropped by the Goldfinches. It was raining heavily and I was amused by it’s use of it’s tail as an umbrella. When the sun came out again I went out to try and get a shot without the rain spotted windows. It soon spotted me and was off. Wasn’t long before it was back. It must have been there an hour or more. Just shows how much those Goldfinches waste!

Players quiz tonight to start the weekend.

Have a good one and stay safe (and dry) everyone.

Eda went to the seaside in North Devon yesterday, no crowds on the beach!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.