Flower Friday: Bedraggled Wet Welsh Poppy

Well we've said for a while that the garden needed some rain, and in the last day or two it's received a fair bit. I was going to blip a rose but they've all taken rather a battering, but I thought this Welsh Poppy was doing a stalwart job of still looking pretty in the rain.

In April we had May-type weather, in May it was like June, and now we're in June it's like April with heavy blustery showers! Crazy. There have been some nice sunny periods too though.

Just as I parked at the supermarket this morning for my weekly shop, the heavens really opened - hail as well as rain, all mixed. So I sat in the car for a few minutes, until it began to ease off then decided to brave the rest of the rain waiting in the outdoor "lockdown" queue. However the rain did me a favour - they let everyone in the queue go into the shop straight away. Surprisingly the aisles didn't seem any busier than usual, and they reminded shoppers over the Tannoy to keep their distance, which everyone seemed to do quite well.

Many thanks as always to BikerBear Anni for hosting FF.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.