pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Frantic Friday

Back in the old days when I went to work, a Friday in the office was always welcome because of a few things.

Firstly, the company has/had a Friday dress-down policy, so it was always a nice end to the week by not having to don a suit.

Secondly, a group of us would join together and take it in turns to collect bacon butties - seeing as you asked I tend towards a baguette (or torpedo housing if you will) for a fried snack.

Thirdly, it was the end of the week and most of the time people were in a good mood.

Finally, it was usually pretty quiet. Not as many people in, not as much going on and it was good time to catch up on the week’s activity.

Focussing mainly on this final point, I had said to my co-parent that I would have the children on Fridays. Since working on that basis, it stands entirely to reason that Friday has consistently been my busiest day whilst having two children to attend to and today in particular, really upped the ante. I spent about 5 minutes with them all day and that was to make them lunch. For their part, they have been amazing and have spent the day reading books, playing cars, shooting each other with nerf guns and playing cards.

I thought I would reward them with a walk between the raindrops after dinner and once the moaning was complete, we had a lovely little post-fest perambulation along the river and around Abbott Park, happening upon this little flowery totemic installation upon which is inscribed “May Peace Prevail on Earth”. 

Think we could all do with a little of that right now.

Stay healthy (but always find time for a bacon butty).  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.