pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Peak Normality

Today I encountered the best possible evidence that things are pretty much back as they should be.

The incontrovertible evidence was the sight of Allyson being sat outside a café on a Saturday morning with cigarette in hand. Seeing Helen, Matt and Chris with her there too was an added bonus.

I’d ventured into town to get jabbed-up for the second time, but I’d already had a productive morning by taking some old wood from the shed and making myself a planter for the backyard (see extra) – it is easily the best thing I have ever made because I checked on it this morning and it is still holding together. Just needs some lavender adding I think.

The jab itself was painless enough so in celebration, as Simmo and I walked through Windermere village later that day, I stopped at The Little Ice Cream Shop (a misnomer if ever there was one) and was handed the biggest ice cream you have ever seen. Being the hero that I am, I soldiered on, devouring everything that didn’t melt all over me as we walked up Orrest Head. The view from the top over the lake and to the surrounding hills was stunning as ever and I could have happily stopped there a while, however, Simmo had a social engagement to prepare for, so we didn’t linger and instead headed down through the fields and back to the car via a brief wander along the lakeside.

With some time in between a social engagement of my own booked in with the 5at5 chaps (now trying out 3at7, which I don’t think is as catchy) I watched Yesterday, which has recently been added to Netflix. It was OK (not helped by a wooden cameo from Ed Sheeran) and largely predictable, but I preferred the similar in theme; Blinded by the Light.

I was a little late meeting the chaps for beer and chuckles as I’d headed out and yet again forgotten to pocket a mask before doing so. I’ve forgotten a mask only once over the course of various lockdowns and now I’ve done it a few times in the last week! Is anyone else doing this lately?!! Is this a symptom of normality rising?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.