pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Stronger

I was deep in the hole. Two doughnuts down on top of a McDonald’s earlier in the day – why could Little Italy have not been open?

Whether I liked it or not, I was committed to a run this evening and it would have to be a longer one.

Although quiet, as we were all tired after the efforts of travelling the day before, the day was not without its pleasantries. We popped over to Morrisons for a few bits and wandered into town on our return and on finding our preferred dining spot closed, we made our way (the children excitedly) to McDonald’s for the first time in ages. I can’t say I’ve missed it too much. 

We were all shattered this afternoon, so whilst Owen played on the Switch, Matty and I curled up because we wanted to watch The Mitchells versus The Machines again. I must have dozed off as I woke up to the gentlest of kisses on my forehead and found the blanket pulled up around me. I’d been tucked in by my 6-year old!

With the children collected by their mother, my jogging gear was donned and I headed out for a hot and heavy run. It was hard work to begin with, but I found some kind of rhythm and I started thinking about the lovely week that had gone and the people I had seen. 

Aside from my father and some brief time with my brother-in-law, it was all women and as I thought about each of them in turn (and indeed all the other important ladies in my life – including the one in this picture), I realised that each of them was either dealing with or had dealt with something completely heart-breaking, but none of them had let their circumstances define them or change them in a negative way. Each of them was dealing with the hand they had been dealt in the way that suited them best, but the important thing is that they were dealing with it.

The further epiphany I had, was that when surrounded by these amazing women, it should come of absolutely no surprise to me that I’ve been inspired to get myself into a better, stronger place in both body and mind.

So, to all those brilliant women in my life, from me a very heartfelt: THANK YOU!!

P.S. Look, I don’t want to push my luck or anything, but if any of you should happen to have any single friends who resemble Gal Gadot and have a penchant for bald fellas, please feel free to pass my number along.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.