Rocky Mountain Moments

By pipersmom

Double-striped Bluets

I woke up early this morning but, as usual, I didn't get going for a few hours.  It was about 10 AM when I left for a photo walk.  It was already getting hot by then, but not too bad.  I drove to the first place and walked around there for about half an hour.  By then it was definitely hotter.  I considered just going home but I went on to the second place.  The path there is longer but I took a shorter loop.  By the time I got home around noon, our thermometer read 96 degrees.  Now at 4 PM we just hit 100!  It's too hot for early June!!

I went out looking for dragonflies and only saw a few Common Whitetails but there were hundreds of bluets, the damselflies in my blip.  I was happy to catch this pair actually holding still long enough for a few shots.  Once they "connect" they seem to stay in motion.  It was quite a scene with so many pairs flying around. They are very tiny, less than an inch in total length.  I included an extra of one on a blade of grass for scale.  

I am grateful for our low humidity.  At least it's just hot and not oppressive.  My mask made me even hotter, but at least my nose didn't get sunburned! :-D

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.