Rocky Mountain Moments

By pipersmom

Hunting for Pollen

My Columbines are all in bloom and the garden is buzzing with bees and hoverflies. Not much time for photography this week so I am grateful for all the spring time activity just outside my door.  Thanks to Cailleach for hosting Wild Wednesdays!

Today was busier than yesterday!  I'll spare you all the details, except one.  I pulled my laptop out of its bag this morning and when I opened it the hinge was broken on one side.  I have no idea how it happened.  I didn't drop it or put anything on top of it and it's been in the padded bag since I last used it.  I tried to close it and the other side popped.  If it wasn't broken before, it definitely was then.  I called a recommended repair person (who wasn't selling computers so I thought I would get an honest estimate) and he said he would take a look but he wouldn't be able to do anything with it until next week.  But I need it next week!!  I brought it to him and he said it was trashed.  Not repairable!  Well, maybe repairable but it would cost more than a new one and still might not work.  Since it had some things wrong with it anyway I wasn't about to take the chance.  He took the time to help me pick out a new one on line and I went to Best Buy and spent a lot of money that I wasn't planning on spending.  He said he would take the hard drive out of the broken one and put it in the new one for me so I brought the new one back to him still in the sealed box.  He spent about 3 hours on the job, not only switching the drives but cleaning all the junk off the old drive, setting up everything and removing all the bloatware that comes with new computers.  He charges $80/hour but he only charged me $100 for all his work.  I'm afraid someone who was expecting his computer today didn't get it because I "cut the line" but he felt sorry for me because I was so distraught.  He's my new best friend. :-))  

I am grateful that I found a good, honest repair person who felt sorry for me and charged me less than half his regular fee.  Thank you, Paul!!  I will definitely be recommending him to everyone I know!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.