Bed with a view

I didn’t work today due to all the recent overtime. It turns out that Wednesdays off feel delightful for breaking up the week nicely.

I hung around Cambridge in the morning and in the afternoon headed to St Ives to meet Michelle after work. The cycle (bike borrowed due to flat tyre on mine) was tough going as the headwind was strong and it spotted rain constantly. I recuperated with snacks on the quayside in St Ives town centre, surrounded by the ancient chapel bridge and the 1,000 years of history in that spot. I was here around 9 years ago with similarly unkempt hair. One of my snacks went down the wrong way and I needed a coughing fit, from which I had to restrain myself. I didn’t want to cause undue covid alarm as I was surrounded by elderly people on benches and an angst-ridden woman having a loud conversation about a shielding family member.

Michelle’s boat buying is well documented on her blip page, and it was an enormous pleasure to visit the boatyard and explore it before she’s properly moved in. This is the view from her bed and we sat on the bow to enjoy a cider and crisps. It’s going to be marvellous that she can wake up in the future, open up this hatch and stare out from the cushions with a coffee in hand.

I left late for the cycle back to Cambridge due to colourful characters at the boatyard who delayed us. The wind was marginally better on the return journey, but I was accompanied by a fine mizzle. Late night cycling is eerie but gives good wildlife experiences: hedgehogs, rabbits, bats and foxes.

A grand day out.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.