Red, Green, and Blue

By GemmoMC

Protests Everywhere I Go

I woke up rather early today, so that I could go to mass at 8:30 am. By the time I was ready to leave the hotel, it was already too late to catch the early mass, so I decided to go to the next one at 10. When we were ready to check out and leave our bags at the front desk, they were open yet. We had to wait till nine for them to open. We waited and then made our way to the Eiffel Tower, so that Alicia could climb it. We got there and I realized that I wouldn't make it to the 10am mass. So then I said, I would go to the next mass which was the international mass at 11:30. When I had noticed that I should leave the Eiffel Tower, it was about 11. I looked at the map to figure out how to get there. I descended the tower and tried to find the nearest metro stop. That took about 20 minutes, so I said to myself, I'm not going to make it. So that I was like I'll go to the 12:45 one. When I finally got to Notre Dame, I was greeted by police. I wondered why there were there, but moments later protesters started to make noise and there was a giant crowd of police and protesters blockading the entrance of the church.

The protest didn't clear up and I wasn't able to go to church today. I was excited to go to church in Notre Dame, but my bad time management skills and the protestors prevented me from going. Oh well...

What did we do instead? We had lunch near Notre Dame. I had a steak and fries! Delicious, except I forgot to order my steak well done. Still good nonetheless. Next, we went to Père Lachaise Cemetery to find the famous people buried there. We saw the graves of Jim Morrison, Edith Piaf, Oscar Wilde, and other important figures of France. Then we went to the Louvre and only spent about an hour there. I don't think it was worth it, but Alicia wanted to go.

We then went back to hour hotel to pick up our stuff and then we headed to the train station. I would have to say, this weekend was extremely exhausting and I didn't really get to enjoy my visit. I wanted to relax and "prendre un cafe" (have a coffee) at a café, but since it was Alicia's first time in Paris we did all the touristy acitivities, which I only half-minded doing. The next time I go to Paris, hopefully I'll get a more calm experience.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.